Home > News, Political Rants > Nazanin Afshin-Jam. President and Co-Founder of Stop Child Executions

Nazanin Afshin-Jam. President and Co-Founder of Stop Child Executions

I had an opportunity to meet Nazanin Afshin-Jam as she came to Castlegar today to give a talk at Mary Hall later this evening in Nelson.Nazanin-Afshin-Jam and I

It was cheesy that I would want to show up at the airport, to “help with luggage”, but my wife was honest with her and stated the truth: “My husband wanted to meet you”.  I am sure that Miss World Canada 2003 has heard that one before, but I simply could not let this moment slip from my fingers. She is beautiful. And she is very engaging. I gave her a ride in the “redneck” limousine (my F-150 4×4) and she was charmed! A woman with a good sense of humor!

She did not shirk away from my questions about her role in being an advocate for children in a totalitarian regime, nor did she shy away from the dangers that are faced with such outspokeness.

In an interview with Shaw Cable, she spoke of her organization but also mentioned that in Iran, you can be put to death for changing your faith to something that is not Muslim. ( I did not ask her her religion, but she said she was blessed by God, and I noticed, she did not use Allah)

She was very candid about life in Iran ( she immigrated to Canada after the Revolution) and she was candid in talking about not only the Revolutionary Gaurd, but the Qud Forces as well. She had said that her former boyfriend (not Peter Makay) had been threatened as have other members of her family.

And yet, Nazanin continues speaking for those that do not have an advocate. She does this without pay, full time, seven days a week, bringing awareness to children being executed in Iran. Not all of the children that are on Iran’s death row are entirely innocent of the crime, but they are children.

I wish I could have spent more time with her, talking about Iran and the issues that the people face there. But, if nothing else, I hung out with a former Miss World contestant (1st runner up),Miss Canada World winner and my wife for an hour on a sunny day in the middle of the mountains.

How many men can say that they have done that?

If you have a chance to hear Nazanin speak on child executions, I strongly urge you to do so.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

