Home > 2010, Foster Parent > Cosmic bowling and the banshee

Cosmic bowling and the banshee

A picture I took of the disco ball in the main...

Image via Wikipedia

Saturday.2:45 pm. The lights dim for Malachi’s birthday party. The music goes up and disco lights begin to swirl. This is cosmic bowling. Twelve, six year old boys and a few girls squeal with delight and begin bowling. The five pin bowling balls look huge in their tiny hands, but they manage to roll the ball between their legs and down the lane way.

Nut-Nut gives a  look of horror. The swirling lights catch her mesmerized by the children’s white clothing, now shining brightly. I ask Nut-Nut what was wrong. “I see their spirits.”,was what I could hear over the din. And then she, well screamed would be the closest word I could imagine. Screamed like a banshee.

“Nut-Nut!” It’s bowling and their shirts are reflecting the light!” The other children, already familiar with her peculiarities,continued bowling. I took her up to the foul line and handed her a ball. “See Nut-Nut?” I took her small hand, and rolled the ball down the lane and struck down one pin. She looked hesitant, still unsure of the “spirits” that she saw around her.

“Now you try.” I said.

She looked carefully at the ball, feeling it’s smoothness? I can only imagine what was going through her head at her first time bowling, but she stepped up and threw the ball high into the air. THUD!! I clasped my mouth in horror of the ball hitting the bowling floor that hard and quickly looked for the manager to see him shaking a finger, but he hadn’t noticed.

The ball began to roll down the lane. S-L-O-W-L-Y. It touched the centre pin and stopped. Nothing happened and before I could say anything, Nut-Nut threw the next ball, harder and faster. It went careening off of the bumpers and took out three pins and the stuck ball as well. Nut-Nut jumped and screamed, savage, war-like. I think she was liking it!

The other kids on her team couldn’t care less, they just  wanted their turn, but Nut-Nut was on fire. I mean she was baring her teeth at the bowling pins, at her team mates. She growled with a ferocity that was, well to be honest, rather disconcerting. I asked her what she was doing, to stop behaving that way. She looked at me and said she was warning the bones (the pins I am assuming) that she was the hunter, that they were the prey.

Now, how do you respond to that? A jungle child, in rural Canada, growling at bowling pins? All I could say was “Throw another ball Nut-Nut and try to knock them down.”

So how did Nut-Nut do? She came in second.

  1. Bonne Friesen
    October 4, 2010 at 2:54 pm

    That read like a short story rather than an article about an actual event. Wow.

    • October 4, 2010 at 3:04 pm

      Sorry for the length of this entry, but some days are naturally longer than others…

  2. October 5, 2010 at 7:18 pm

    how are you!This was a really marvelous subject!
    I come from roma, I was luck to look for your website in wordpress
    Also I obtain much in your subject really thank your very much i will come later

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

