Home > 2010, Personal > On being a foster parent to Nhabhutu

On being a foster parent to Nhabhutu

I never realized how hard it might be to be a foster parent. Little Nut-Nut is surely a joy, but it is not like I can sit on my derriere and do nothing. There are counseling sessions I have to take her to to help integrate into the Western world. Parental visits which requires extensive travel considering that her mother is currently imprisoned in the Gulag.

Both parents do seem nice, but obviously they both have their own issues and demons that they must face. Little Nut-Nut seems quite care free and that has been a blessing to us and our family. Quirks include she thought that our dog was dinner. (“No Nut-Nut, she is our pet”); grocery stores amaze her. She has never had a nectarine and found it to be delicious. Bugs do not crawl all over her. She can’t believe I “water” the lawn.

She is smart and funny. I think Nut-Nut is making herself comfortable in our home and with our family. I keep reminding myself of where she has come from and that ultimately, God’s hand is on her. I am also aware that underneath the pretty smile of that six year old girl, there are undiscovered issues, laying in wait.

Well, off to swimming lessons for the clan. Day four…stay tuned dear reader.

Categories: 2010, Personal Tags:
  1. Dawn
    July 22, 2010 at 7:55 am

    Praying that God would give you both Wisdom and a sense of humor for the difficult times.

  2. July 22, 2010 at 8:45 am

    Wow….I can understand from a whole different perspective. I was a “natural” child in a family that took in foster children. I have recently begun blogging about my experiences of growing up with “other people’s children” with just as much honesty and truth as you! Will continue following your journey.
    Jane

  3. July 22, 2010 at 4:34 pm

    Dear Ndugu Umbo,

    I know we’re all pretty small in the big scheme of things and I suppose the most you can hope for is to make some kind of difference. But what kind of difference have I made? What in the world is better because of me?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

