Home > Nonsense > My rubber ducky drowned

My rubber ducky drowned

Tuesday. Sorrow.

The day started out like any other day that presents itself here on planet Earth. I grabbed a cup of coffee, good black Joe and ran a bath. Today was going to be my day.

A little gardening, a little sunshine and a cup of hot Joe to wash away the sweat of last night’s work out. Little ducky sat bravely by as the tub began to fill with hot, sudsy water. Little ducky always looked forward to bath-time.

I know that we have heard it all before about not leaving things unattended, but I heard the mail lady come so I wanted to rush, to see if my X-ray specs and 7ft glow in the dark Frankenstein had come in.As I opened the mail, I heard a faint splash and kept on reading the latest offer from Save the Gay Whales for Jesus Foundation.

Coffee was decidedly better with a splash of Baileys. My time grew short and began to head to the tub, to turn the water off and prepare for a good old soaking and then the horror!!

“Little ducky!! Little ducky!!!” Floating on his side in the tub, bobbing up and down from the splashing water. “Little ducky”, I cried and sat on the edge of the tub, staring at his lifeless plastic form.

Tears began to spill. “My fault! My fault” and now he was gone. I never even really got to know him on a deeper level. He was always a friendly face that accompanied me on my journeys through soap and foam. But now those days are gone. Gone forever.

Slowly, I reached to drain the tub and lifted him out of there.

Good bye little ducky.

Categories: Nonsense Tags: ,
  1. May 11, 2010 at 6:54 pm

    That is so funny. Oh..sorry.. I guess you were attached to the little fella. Aww..I guess you can’t flush him down the toilet, can you???

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

