Home > Saskatoon memories > Tainted love, smelling like dog meat

Tainted love, smelling like dog meat

Driving in my truck with the XM, got me thinking and rambling. Tainted love comes on. I wonder. I wander. In my time, I reflect on Saskatoon, the birth place of  my death.

Overrated shows of the arcade. Mike doing a knife. I did more than anyone, background so slow. Loaf of bread came up for vomit. Lover’s kiss. She didn’t know. I think she would have still kissed me, even if she had known.

Truck comes to a stop.Work crews hosing the road. Saskatoon. Cold. Mike’s goat. Warm girl in my lap. Freezing. Outside winter trespasses through nook and crannies, eating away at the sane mind. It was all crazy. The ambitions of the few turned into the dreams of many. I should never have left. Paris was calling me from across the world, I couldn’t resist the siren call of the dead.

Are there records of me? Are there memories of me? I don’t know. I remember Avenue P, sitting on a couch. Bottle of rye in hand. Football players laughing at my hair. I said I would hurt them and they believed. I remember the stairs, falling, falling down but not dropping a sip of rye. I remember making a girl cry. Don’t recall the stop we were on, but nonetheless frozen tears stained her makeup.

My ’62. My Truck. Vehicles then and now. Different man.Then and now.Different friends.Then and now but they are so much the same. I had to leave. You understand that don’t you? I had to leave the desert for paradise. I had to. No regrets, more remorse. I had to leave. I had to let you go. All roads lead to Hell, but the one that is narrow, that is the secret. I hope you find it.

Memory of Saskatoon

  1. April 12, 2010 at 10:40 am

    I love this one – can relate to it in a big way. Thanks for that 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

