Home > 2010, Personal > When you take another hit

When you take another hit

February 16, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

Life is pretty good at throwing you curve balls. God does it to test us and the Devil does it to tempt us. How can a mere mortal stand under the continued strain? Where can he continue to turn to?

It seems that at times, the harder we try to press into God, the harder the outside world becomes. It isn’t about works. It remains in Faith, the world of Faith and how we are refined by the various fires that will ultimately mold our character.  I saw a poster on the weekend that said ” When people give you lemons, give them Jesus and together, make lemonade. (or something to that effect) And I have been given some pretty rotten lemons.

I have tried giving them Jesus. I have tried to make them feel that they had a special place in the universe. Not good enough. As much as they have, they wanted more. They wanted the lie of freedom. The lie that says freedom is a life of no limits, no restrictions. A life that says freedom is on the other side of the fence where the grass is greener.

So how do I fight that lie? How can I stand up to it? I can’t but God can. I have to put my hope, my faith in something, someone bigger than myself because I cannot control what happens to me, let alone to others. At the end of the day, I have to believe that there is a Higher Power who does have our well being at heart and does want the best for us, regardless of how we throw it back into His face.

Categories: 2010, Personal Tags: ,
  1. February 16, 2010 at 12:35 pm

    Hi. This is well put and so true. It’s importent for us to cling to Jesus when life hits us in the face. Even though our life isn’t always easy we have to believe that God is with us. And I think it’s importent to show the world that freedom isn’t a life with out hardship, but a life where you can be stedfast and grow from the difficulty.
    Some thoughts from a stranger. Be blessed…

    • February 16, 2010 at 2:08 pm

      Takk Annka for dine kommentarer.

      Å være en kristen har sine vanskeligheter, men den friheten vi har i Jesus, er verdt det.

      Takk slags fremmed for ditt ord og bli velsignet også.

      Thank you Annka for your comments.

      Being a Christian does have its hardships but the freedom we have in Jesus, is worth it.

      Thank you kind stranger for your words and be blessed as well.

      • February 17, 2010 at 12:11 am

        Good norwegian! 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

