Home > 2010, Concerts > Full circle with Roger Waters and The Wall

Full circle with Roger Waters and The Wall

December 13, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments
Cover of "The Wall"

Cover of The Wall

Well, it was 30 years in the making, from a scared 14 year old who saw it in 1980 to crazy man, Dec 11,2010 I have come full circle.

Roger Waters and The Wall at the Tacoma Dome on Saturday was everything that I could have wanted it to be. 30 years ago, I traveled down the very path that Pink Floyd was warning me about; creating my own wall.

When I was 14 and saw it, I did not have the experience to fully understand The Wall. Sure, I understood the political context, but I did not understand the relational context, not the personal detachment that a wall would create, and thus, deprive me of many years of what life was meant to be.

Waters on Saturday night took me down that road again, in an experience that for me, was borderline religious. I had traveled a hard road to tear down my wall (thank you Jesus!) and here I was, again with the man that really was a major influence for who and what I had become, have become.

He hit the notes, the wall reverberated. The plane burst into flames. The wall came down. He sang `Mother `against a backdrop of footage of himself, 30 years prior, singing the very same song. I wept openly because as The Wall was his, it was also mine. His mother, was my mother.

30 years later, and I sat with thousands upon thousands of likeminded souls I am sure. I don`t think that I am the only one that The Wall has resonated with. I am sure that there were a lot of children in the 70`s and the 80`s that could relate, could identify with it.

Alienation, drug abuse and hatred. It was all I could ever have been. I have come out from behind my wall as it was literally shattered years ago. Older, wiser, perhaps like Mr. Waters, understanding the futility of trying to hide behind cold eyes is not the best way for humanity to grow, to achieve heaven.

 

  1. December 19, 2010 at 4:49 am

    The most difficult thing is to find a blog with unique and fresh content but you definitely add value. Bravo.

  2. January 4, 2011 at 9:17 pm

    Super-Duper site! I am loving it!! Will come back again. I am taking your feeds also

  3. January 5, 2011 at 5:29 pm

    Hi there! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and tell you I really enjoyed reading this.

  4. Commercial Diving
    January 7, 2011 at 9:25 pm

    Hello, did you know your webpage was linked to from the Digg website?

  5. January 9, 2011 at 10:44 am

    this is a deeply compelling send, thank you as the information. Contrite my english is not the very best. do you be versed if it is possible to forward this to the spanish language. that would be sheer helpfull.

  6. February 21, 2011 at 7:03 pm

    Informative summary, bookmarked your blog in hopes to read more!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

