Home > Personal > Cover me! I am going in!

Cover me! I am going in!

Wardrobe remix: Job interview

Image by Kino Praxis via Flickr

A few hours away from my 1st job interview in almost 10 years. If I said I wasn’t a tad nervous, I would be lying.

Unemployment has many downs, but the ups are good. Getting called in for an interview is a good thing. Boosts the self esteem immediately and for those of us who believe in a higher power than ourselves, also gives us time to give heart felt thanks.

What is working on the outside like? I have been working from home for so long I think I have forgotten the basics. Can I wear pajamas? Is there coffee provided? Do you get recess? Can I wear slippers?

And then there is the sound advice from all of your friends that are working. Do this, don’t do that during your interview. Look at the person in the eye. Do not pass wind. Rules and more rules! Where did they all come from? I remember just starting out in Saskatoon at Smitty’s Restaurant where the interview was this: “Can you wash dishes?”

“Yes.”

“You start Monday.”

Simpler times. Kinder times. Washing dishes was a noble job. My first paycheck was $47.10. My next paycheck went to rent. Sure I was 14/15 at the time, but rent ain’t free! And here it is, 30 years later and mortgages aren’t free either.

  1. December 7, 2010 at 11:14 am

    Good luck!

    Don’t answer your cellphone during the interview. That’s a bad thing to do. Unless it’s the person offering you a job.

    • December 7, 2010 at 11:22 am

      Thanks! Even more rules!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment